• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Contacts

Address:
198099 Saint Petersburg
17 Promyshlennaya Ulitsa, Room 107

Phone:+7 (812)786-92-49 

Postal address: 
190008 Saint Petersburg
16 Soyuza Pechatnikov Ulitsa
 

 Facebook

Administration
Department Head Alexander Semyonov
Academic Supervisor Evgeniy Anisimov
Book
From Cotton and Smoke: Łódź – Industrial City and Discourses of Asynchronous Modernity 1897–1994

Zysiak A., Śmiechowski K., Każmierska K. et al.

Lodz University Press, Jagiellonian University Press, distributed by Columbia University Press, 2018.

Book chapter
Fisheries of the eastern coast of the Azov Sea in the late 18th – 19th century – Organization, infrastructure and everyday life

Kraikovski A.

In bk.: Between Grain and Oil from the Azov to Caucasus: The port-cities of the eastern coast of the Black Sea, late 18th – early 20th centuries. Vol. 3. Centre of Maritime History, Institute for Mediterranean Studies – Foundation of Research and Technology, 2020. Ch. 6. P. 139-163.

About the Department

Goals and main activities

The Department of History at the Higher School of Economics in St. Petersburg was founded in 2012. The overarching goals of the department are to systematically develop the fields of global, comparative, and transnational history as a potent tool for overcoming the limitations of national history canon, to foster interdisciplinary dialogue in the fields of social sciences and humanities, and to bring new public relevance to historical knowledge. The department mission includes the development of new types of historical undergraduate and graduate education in Russia as well as pioneering research in Russian historiography in dialogue with the global historical scholarship. The department was founded together with the Center for Historical Research,

The department’s areas of research include: history of the empire, nationalism, and colonialism; environmental and technological history, urban history; early modern social and cultural history; intellectual history and history of science; digital humanities and GIS.

The department recruits staff internationally, hosting visiting professorships and nuturing international partnerships with world renowned universities and research centers, including the University of Michigan, the University of GoettingenUniversity of Turin (joint international postgraduate program global history of empires), University of Michigan, University of Jyväskylä , University of Bielefeld, University of Bonn and the Ludwig Maximilian University in Muenchen. Since 2014, the Department has been working with the German academic exchange service (DAAD). 

 

Center for Historical Research

Center for Historical Research was founded in 2012. The Center's goal is to systematically develop methodology and approaches for global, comparative, and transnational history in various fields of historical research. Key research topics for the Center are: opportunities and potentialities of historical research across the boundaries of national history and beyond the research agenda of national historiographic canon; the history of diversity and the politics of difference; the porous boundaries between the discipline of history and adjacent fields of social sciences and potentialities of the cross-disciplinary research agenda-setting; the imagined boundary between the past and the present and the relevance of historical knowledge for contemporary and future-oriented public and expert debate in modern societies. More about the activities of Center you find here. 

Research seminar 'Boundaries of History'

The department hosts the regular research seminar 'Boundaries of History' chaired by Prof. Alexander Semyonov. This seminar series comprises sessions with pre-circulated research papers both in English and Russian, as well as public lectures and debates. The potent metaphor of the title of the seminar highlight its permanent discussion threads:

1) opportunities and potentialities of historical research across the boundaries of national history and beyond the research agenda of national historiographic canon;

2) the porous boundaries between the discipline of history and adjacent fields of social sciences and potentialities of the cross-disciplinary research agenda setting;

3) the imagined boundary between the past and the present and the relevance of historical knowledge for contemporary and future-oriented public and expert debate in modern societies; 

4) the boundary between professional history and lay and public history. 

Students Research Society of History Department

In 2018, on the basis of the Department of History, the Student Research Society (hereinafter - SRS) was created. The goal of the SRS is to involve students in the scientific and cultural life of the department and the university, as well as help in the implementation of research projects and initiatives. The main activity of the SRS is to organize and conduct thematic events for students of the HSE and other universities, including the annual Usable Pasts conference, summer schools and public seminars. More about the activities of SRS you find here

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • АБB
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

О департаменте

Цели и основная деятельность

Департамент истории был основан как факультет истории в 2012 году. Основная цель департамента – систематическое развитие глобальной, сравнительной и транснациональной истории как общей рамки исторического знания и инструмента преодоления ограничений, создаваемых канонами национальной истории. Такой подход способствует развитию междисциплинарного диалога истории с социальными и гуманитарными науками и увеличению значимости исторического знания для современной общественной жизни. Миссия департамента — развитие нового типа исторического образования в России и новых исследовательских областей российской историографии в диалоге с современной мировой историографией. Департамент был создан совместно с Центром исторических исследований.

Основные направления исследований департамента истории включают в себя историю империй, национализма и колониализма, экологическую и технологическую историю, историческую урбанистику, историческую географию, историю науки, социальную, культурную, и интеллектуальную историю, антропологические исследования.

Сотрудники департамента преподают на образовательной программе бакалавриата по направлению «история» и на магистерской программе «Глобальная и региональная история / Global and Regional History», а также преподают и руководят диссертационными исследования аспирантов в аспирантской программе по истории ВШЭ и в совместной международной аспирантской программе Глобальная история империй (ВШЭ и и университет Турина).

Департамент стремится к привлечению международных специалистов, развивает программу приглашенных профессоров и ведёт политику международного партнёрства с ведущими университетами и исследовательскими центрами в области истории: Университетом Турина (совместная международная аспирантская программа Глобальная история империй), Университетом Мичигана, Гёттингенским университетом, Университетом Юваскала, Билефельдским университетом, Университетом Бонна. С 2014 года департамент сотрудничает с Германской службой академических обменов (DAAD). C 2015 года департаментом истории при поддержке DAAD проводится ежегодная летняя школа 'The Topography of Imperial Power: The Political and Cultural Space of Saint Petersburg'

Центр исторических исследований

Центр исторических исследований был основан в 2012 году. Задача Центра – систематическая разработка методологии и подходов глобальной, сравнительной и транснациональной истории в различных областях исторических исследований. Ключевые для Центра исследовательские темы: возможности и потенциал исторического исследования через пересечение границ национальной истории и вне исследовательской повестки дня национального историографического канона; история разнообразия и политика различения; пористые границы между историей как дисциплиной и смежными областями социальных наук и возможности междисциплинарной постановки исследовательских задач; воображаемая граница между прошлым и настоящим; актуальность исторического знания для современных и перспективных общественных и экспертных дискуссий в современных обществах. Подробнее о деятельности ЦИИ можно узнать по этой ссылке. 

Исследовательский семинар «Границы Истории»

На базе департамента проводится регулярный исследовательский семинар «Границы Истории» под руководством профессора Александра Семёнова. Вынесенное в название понятие границы является ключевой концепций современных исторических исследований и методом рефлексии над современной историографией. Заседания семинара проходят на русском и английском языках. Постоянные темы семинара включают в себя:

1. Проблемы определения границ исторического опыта в сравнительном историческом исследовании, новые исследовательские вопросы связанные с преодолением канона национальной истории и с развитием глобальной, сравнительной и транснациональной истории

2. Проблемы кросс-дисциплинарного диалога в поле гуманитарных и социальных наук, обсуждение состояния транс-дисциплинарных областей исследований

3. Проблемы истории современности и определения постоянно меняющейся границы между прошлым и настоящим, актуальность исторического знания в современных общественных дебатах и экспертной аналитике.

4. Проблемы границ между исторической профессией и публичной и популярной историей, циркулирование исторических знаний в современном обществе и культуре.  

Студенческое научное общество Департамента истории

В 2018 году на базе Департамента истории было создано Студенческое научное общество (далее – СНО). Целью СНО является вовлечение студентов в научную и культурную жизнь департамента и университета, а также помощь в реализации исследовательских проектов и инициатив. Основная деятельность СНО заключается в организации и проведении тематических мероприятий для студентов ВШЭ и других вузов, среди которых ежегодная конференция Usable Pasts, летние школы и публичные семинары. Подробнее о деятельности СНО можно узнать по этой ссылке. 

Архив

Другое