• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site

Programme Overview

The HSE St. Petersburg Master's Programme in "Comparative Politics of Eurasia" responds to the growing strategic importance of the wider Eurasian region, including the former Soviet Union and the countries of East Asia, as well as the associated need for both national and international expertise in the comparative politics of this vital region. The programme provides for a discipline based professional training in Comparative Politics complemented with an advanced, specialist understanding of the unique and challenging political and social environment of the Eurasian region.

 
The programme curriculum is developed around a core conceptual training in comparative political science and a comprehensive empirical training in contemporary methods of social science research. Alongside this core, the programme offers an exciting range of elective courses in two broad groups. The first group, augmenting the core training in comparative political science covers: politics and society in contemporary Russia; the social and political transformations of Central Asia, China and Vietnam; and the political economy of post-communist development. A second, more multi-disciplinary grouping of courses includes those that cover: the international relations of Russia, Central Asia, China and Vietnam; Russia’s energy policies and dilemmas; and Russia’s geo-political standing in the context of the wider Arctic region.

The Programme’s location in St. Petersburg with its extraordinary cultural and historical heritage will provide students with unique opportunities for cultural enrichment, historical understanding and the learning of Russian language. Within the structure of the programme, students can take classes in Russian Language and in the History of Russian Art and Culture.
The rigorous conceptual and methodological design of the programme means that it is accessible to good students from all academic backgrounds and with different professional experiences. Through the programme, students will attain the subject and disciplinary knowledge, the methodological expertise and the professional sophistication to successfully pursue careers in the public or private sector; including in academia, think tanks, risk and business consultancies, political consultancy, the government and international organisations, NGOs, the media and journalism, and diplomacy.


Pr. Handbook_Master’s programme "Comparative Politics of Eurasia"
Programme Booklet
Programme Presentation

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта

О программе

Магистерская программа «Сравнительная политика Евразии» отвечает растущему значению глобального региона Евразии, включая бывший СССР и страны Восточной Азии, и связанной с этим потребности в развитии экспертного знания об этом ключевом регионе.  Программа предполагает дисциплинарно сфокусированную подготовку в области сравнительной политологии, соединенную со специализированным знанием уникального и очень сложного политического и социального контекста Евразийского региона.   

Учебный план основан на фундаментальной теоретической подготовке в области сравнительной политологии и эмпирическом освоении современных методов социального исследования.  Наряду с этим, программа предлагает набор элективных курсов, сгруппированных в две больших категории.  Первая, дополняющая базовую теоретическую подготовку, включает: политика и общество в современной России; общественная и политическая трансформация Центральной Азии, Китая и Вьетнама; политэкономия посткоммунистического развития.  Вторая, междисциплинарная группа курсов освещает: международные отношения России, Центральной Азии, Китая и Вьетнама; российскую энергетическую политику и вызовы; геополитическое положение России в Арктическом регионе.  

Расположение программы в Санкт-Петербурге с его выдающимся культурным и историческим наследием предоставляет студентам уникальные возможности для культурного развития, исторического понимания и языковой подготовки.    

Концептуальная и методологическая структура программы делает ее доступной для студентов с самым разным образовательным и профессиональным опытом. Программа позволит приобрести знание соответствующей дисциплины и отдельных предметов, методологическую экспертизу и профессиональную квалификацию, необходимые для успешного построения карьеры в общественном и частном секторах, включая университеты, аналитические и исследовательские центры, бизнес консультирование, политическое консультирование, правительственные и международные организации, НКО, журналистику и дипломатию.