• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Conference

Situating the ‘Global’ in Contemporary Humanities

 



The concept of the ‘global’ has gained currency since the 1980s as a means to move beyond nation-centred and area-studies narratives and forms of knowledge across humanities. As a result, we have witnessed the rise of global history and the anthropology of globalisation, as well as reevaluations of the units for comparison in area studies and literary scholarship. At the same time, the end of the Cold War and the emergence of new configurations of global flows and interconnections have prompted both the critique of Eurocentric universalism and the appearance of new autarchic modes of representation of culture and the past. What do these transformations imply for the concrete ways in which research and teaching are shaped today? How are the emergent global subjects of inquiry interlinked with the globalisation of arts and the humanities themselves? What are some of the contours of global networks, cultural flows and hierarchies which we explore — and in which we are also involved as scholars, authors and teachers? How do academics react to the politics of knowledge in the humanities in different countries and regions?

Discussing these issues is the goal of the First Conference of the School of Arts and Humanities of the HSE St Petersburg. We invite paper proposals (strongly encouraging doctoral student submissions) that fall within the following rubrics:

Planned plenary events:

Keynote address: Poul Holm (Trinity College Dublin) ‘The human touch – why the humanities are needed for global environmental change – and how’

Round table on global contours of intellectual property, academic research and publishing, organised by Nikolai Ssorin-Chaikov

New editorial team presentation of the Social Anthropology/Anthropologie Sociale(the Journal of the European Association of Social Anthropologists [EASA]

Paper proposals are to include intended panel or rubrics mentioned above, title, 200-words-long abstract, author’s name, affiliation and email. They are to be sent to GlobalHumanitiesSAHHSESPB@gmail.com.

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
Конференция

Проблемы глобального в современных гуманитарных науках

 



Концепция глобального стала актуальной в гуманитарных науках с 1980х гг. в контексте критики национально-центричной аналитики. В результате, с тех пор возникли целые новые направления, такие как глобальная история и антропология глобализации, а также различные способы переосмысления единиц сравнения и шкалы в литературоведении и area studies. В это же время, после окончания Холодной войны и возникновения новых конфигураций глобальных потоков и связей возникли и новые критики Евроцентризма, и новые автаркические модели репрезентации культурной уникальности и прошлого. Что эти трансформации предполагают сегодня для конкретных форм научной работы и преподавания? Каким образом новые глобальные предметы исследования связаны с глобализацией самих гуманитарных наук? Каковы контуры глобальных сетей взаимоотношений, культурных потоков и иерархий, которые мы исследуем, и в которых сами принимаем участие как исследователи, авторы и преподаватели? Каким образом ученые реагируют на политику знания в разных странах и регионах мира?

Обсуждению этих вопросов — цель первой ежегодной конференции Санкт-Петербургской школы гуманитарных наук и искусств. Открыт прием заявок на доклады (в том числе и аспирантских) по следующим направлениям или секциям:

Пленарное заседание конференции:

Доклад Пола Холма (Колледж Троицы, Дублин): «Человеческое измерение: почему — и как — гуманитарные науки нужны для пониманию глобальных экологических изменений»

Круглый стол о глобальных контурах интеллектуальной собственности, научных исследований и публикаций (организатор Николай Ссорин-Чайков)

Презентация новой редколлегии Social Anthropology/Anthropologie Sociale,журнала Европейской Ассоциации Социальной Антропологии (EASA), и их первого выпуска этого журнала 

Заявки к участию должны включать в себя указание одной из вышеперечисленных секций, название доклада, резюме доклада размером до 200 слов, имя, аффилиацию и электронную почту автора. Заявки посылаете на электронный адрес GlobalHumanitiesSAHHSESPB@gmail.com