• A
  • A
  • A
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • ABC
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Regular version of the site
Campus inSaint Petersburgvisionusersearch
HSE Campus in St. PetersburgEventsUrban youth cultures: solidarities, creativity, activism

Urban youth cultures: solidarities, creativity, activism

Call for Papers / International conference

Youth (sub)cultural practices and communities are often stigmatized by the state, those working in education and parents as a source of danger and threat. The goal of the conference is to analyze the diversity of youth cultural activities and to explore them as a space for education, maturation, experimentation, protest, creative activity and communication. In particular, the conference will focus on the following:

·        new agents, practices and meanings of youth cultural scenes,

·        youth (sub)cultures, solidarities, scenes: in search of new approaches,

·        methods and rhetoric of the deproblematization of youth and their cultural activities,

·        conflict-free areas, processes and practices in youth cultural scenes,

·        development of urban public spaces by youth cultural communities,

·        youth cultural scenes as places for conflict and interaction across gender, generational, class, religious and ethnic divides, and as places for overcoming these differences,

·        global and local youth cultural forms, Russian youth in a comparative perspective,

·        young migrants in youth cultural spaces.

We expect an inter-disciplinary and international group of empirical researchers to participate, which will allow discussion of the latest methods, approaches and findings in the field of youth (sub)cultural practice.    

The conference is hosted by the Centre for Youth Studies at the National Research University Higher School of Economics http://sh.spb.hse.ru/youth/  which has conducted a large number of projects in the area of youth studies. Some of the main thematic areas of work for the CYS are:  youth cultures and solidarities, citizenship and historical memory, youth activism, youth employment and consumption, corporeal identities of young people, ethnic and religious youth, and nationalism and xenophobia amongst young people. The conference is organised as part of the project ‘Creative fields of inter-ethnic interaction on youth cultural scenes in Russian cities’ (2015-17, supported by the Russian Science Foundation), conducted by the Centre for Youth Studies in four cities of Russia: St Petersburg, Ulyanovsk, Kazan, and Makhachkala.

Confirmed speakers at the conference:

Prof. Hilary Pilkington, Dr. Ajmal Hussain (Manchester university, UK) ‘The challenges of multicultural living for young people in post 7/7 Britain'

Prof. Elena Omelchenko (CYS NRU HSE, Russia) ‘Regional differences of urban youth cultural scenes in Russia’

The languages of the conference: Russian and English 

Submitting an abstract:

If you would like to present a paper, please submit an abstract of up to 350 words along with a covering letter that includes your institutional affiliation, position, email address, and telephone number. Submissions are accepted in Russian or English. The deadline for abstracts is 2 8th May 2017.

Successful applicants will be informed by 11th June 2017.

Unfortunately, the organisers are unable to cover travel and subsistence expenses for participants.

For further information, please contact: youth.hse.spb@gmail.com

• A
  • A
  • A
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • АБВ
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
  • А
Обычная версия сайта
НИУ ВШЭ в Санкт-ПетербургеМероприятияМеждународная конференция "Городские молодежные культуры:солидарности, креативность, активизм"

Международная конференция "Городские молодежные культуры:солидарности, креативность, активизм"


Молодежные (суб)культурные практики и сообщества зачастую стигматизируются государством, педагогами, родителями, как источник опасности и угрозы. Цель данной конференции – посмотреть на  многообразие молодежных культурных активностей как пространства обучения, взросления, экспериментирования, протеста, творчества, коммуникации. Особые фокусы конференции:

·        новые агенты, практики, смыслы на молодежных культурных сценах, 

·        молодежные (суб)культуры, солидарности, сцены: в поисках новых подходов

·        методологии и риторики депроблематизации молодежи и молодежных культурных активностей,

·        неконфликтные зоны, процессы, практики на молодежных культурных сценах,

·        освоение городских пространств молодежными культурными сообществами,

·        молодежные культурные сцены как место столкновения, коммуникации и преодоления гендерных, поколенческих, классовых, религиозных и этнических различий,

·        глобальные и локальные молодежные культуры, российская молодежь в мировом  контексте,

·        молодые мигранты в молодежных культурных сообществах и пространствах.

 Мы предполагаем привлечь к участию в конференции ученых-эмпириков из разных дисциплин и стран для того, чтобы обсудить современные молодежные культурные контексты и новейшие подходы к исследованию молодежи.      

 

Подтвержденные участники конференции:

Prof. Hilary Pilkington, Dr. Ajmal Hussain (Manchester university, UK) ‘The challenges of multicultural living for young people in post 7/7 Britain'

Проф. Омельченко Елена (ЦМИ, НИУ ВШЭ) "Региональные различия городских молодежных культурных сцен в России"

Конференция организована в рамках проекта "Созидательные поля межэтнического взаимодействия и молодежные культурные сцены российских городов" (2015-2017), который реализуется Центром молодежных исследований при поддержке Российского Научного Фонда. На конференции будут представлены эмпирические результаты проекта, собранные в четырех городах: Санкт-Петербурге, Ульяновске, Казани, Махачкале. А также на конференции прозвучат доклады по другим исследованиям Центра молодежных исследований НИУ ВШЭ http://sh.spb.hse.ru/youth/, который на протяжении многих лет развивает такие направления как:  молодежные (суб)культуры и солидарности; гражданство и историческая память; молодежный активизм; трудовая занятость и потребительские практики молодежи; креативные технологии и дигитализация; ксенофобия и национализм; телесность, гендер и сексуальность молодежи. 

Для участия в конференции необходимо отправить абстракт размером не более 350 слов вместе с сопроводительным письмом, где должны быть указаны Ваше место работы и должность, электронный адреса и номер телефона для связи. Абстракты могут быть подготовлены на русском или английском языках и должны быть отправлены до 28 мая 2017 года на адрес  youth.hse.spb@gmail.com. Языки конференции: русский и английский.

Результаты отбора будут известны 11 июня 2017 года.

К сожалению, у организаторов конференции нет возможности помочь с компенсацией расходов на проезд и проживание участников.